Grandma’s Traveling Fever

Welcome Aboard ‘Families Going Places’

By Marcella S. Meeks

     I have always loved going places even when I was a little girl! I could turn a two-hour journey into a two-hour adventure even back then. My brother used to take me fishing. I wasn’t a fisherman (woman) in any sense of the word but I figured out ways of turning that two-hour fishing trip into an extraordinary adventure.

     Because of my travel fever, as my kids call it, I started taking long vacations every year back in the early nineties when my children were still young. We’d stay two weeks in Colorado or Arkansas, or Galveston soaking up the sun on the beach. Or we’d go to Mississippi for the weekend when time was limited. When we weren’t traveling away from home, we’d go to the city fifty miles away and enjoy a theme park, a water park or a movie. Whatever we found entertaining, we did it as a family. We’d turn a day trip into some kind of exciting journey and the memories will be cherished for the rest of our lives. The stories those kids have to tell are priceless.

     My children are all grown up now. The second generation of grand children have started growing up and going on with their lives. There are several new grand children and greats, too, so this traveling grandma is just getting started. I’m not stopping until my journey in this life is over!

     I started traveling with the children back in the early nineties and my grandchildren a little later in the game. We made a lot of memories along the way. We go someplace different every year, at least twice a year. My dream now is to start taking weekend getaways more often now that I am retired and have more time on my hands. And more grandkids who want to go with me!

     I have that traveling fever again, and no matter what I do I just can’t shake it off. My desire to travel and blog about it is stronger now than ever before. That’s part of the reason I started ‘Families Going Places.’ I want to ‘feed this beast’ – this passion and desire to roam – and take myself places I’ve never been before (and the grandkids, too!)

     By next summer I will have a sign on my trail blazer that reads “Families Going Places” with my website posted on it. When you see us, honk three times! It will be our signal that you’re following us on our blog! I wish you could follow us on our jaunts and excursions as we travel the globe!

     I’m not sure just yet where our travels will take us in 2022 but you can bet I am working on it! Honk three times when you see us on the road! Pack up the family, the dog and let’s get ready to go places!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started